Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the first collage I’ve ever done based on a drawing of mine. And the drawing was itself inspired by a book (The Room Lit by Roses by Carole Maso – which seriously, every pregnant woman should read as it’s just the most beautiful journal of pregnancy in the history of ever), so by proxy, the collage was book-inspired as well. I’m pretty happy with how the drawing turned out and might just re-do this as a full-sized acrylic painting. I may even get a canvas. CRAZY TALK.

As for the collage… ehhhhhh… I don’t know if it’s done? It felt very forced to work with such a specific image in mind. Usually, I let the pieces I find dictate the final composition, so finding pieces to fit a specific image feels like trying to say the alphabet backwards: doable, but unnatural. If nothing else, it was a good exercise for my brain to try to see if I could do it. So, now I know that I can. The question becomes: is it really a good idea? Dunno. In any case, I’m well aware that it’s not my best work and it’s truly more of an experiment than a finished piece.

I also found out that acrylic paint doesn’t work well on glossy paper. Good to know.